Fair Maps Maryland Announces Doug Riley as New Member of Board of Directors

Fair Maps Maryland Announces Doug Riley as New Member of Board of Directors
Allan Kittleman Steps Down Amid County Executive Run

ANNAPOLIS, MD (November 30, 2021)—Fair Maps Maryland today announced the addition of Doug Riley, former Baltimore County Council member and candidate for County Executive, as a member of the organization’s bipartisan Board of Directors. Riley will replace longtime state and local elected official Allan Kittleman, who is voluntarily stepping down from the organization as he runs for Howard County Executive.

“I am thrilled to join Fair Maps Maryland during this pivotal time for our state,” said Riley. “Gerrymandering is wrong, plain and simple, no matter who does it or how righteous they claim to be. The coming weeks will be critical in our fight for free and fair elections, while politicians in Annapolis attempt to maintain their power and the status quo by keeping Marylanders in the dark. I look forward to working with this organization to shine a light on this process and hold our elected leaders accountable.”

“Fair Maps Maryland couldn’t be more pleased to have Doug Riley join our efforts, and we thank Allan Kittleman for lending his time and talents to our organization,” said Doug Mayer, Fair Maps Maryland spokesman. “As we get closer to the upcoming special session, it is becoming increasingly clear that the legislature will do everything in their power to continue Maryland’s shameful history of gerrymandering. Unfortunately for them, Fair Maps Maryland will be there every step of the way—dragging this partisan practice into the light and holding them accountable for what is nothing short of voter suppression.”

About Fair Maps Maryland:

Fair Maps Maryland is an independent, non-profit organization of Marylanders dedicated to abolishing politically motivated gerrymandering and the full implementation of nonpartisan redistricting. Specifically, Fair Maps Maryland is working to ensure that the electoral maps created by the Maryland Citizens Redistricting Commission are accepted by the Maryland General Assembly and enacted into law.

Share this post: